Russell Coutts in Dubai for the final showdown

The last event of the RC 44 Championship Tour 2009 will take place in one month in Dubai (UAE). The leading teams are merely separated by a handful of points whilst the regatta counts double. The contest will reach its conclusion from Wednesday, November 25th to Sunday, November 29th.

  October 27, 2009 – The last regatta of the RC 44 Championship Tour 2009 will take place next month in Dubai. The ten RC 44 teams involved in the Championship Tour will participate in the event and fight hard to maintain or better their position in the rankings.   The Sea Dubai RC 44 Gold Cup is the season’s most important regatta: four titles will be awarded at the end of the regatta and the points count double. The titles at stake are: the overall championship title, the match race and fleet race season titles as well as the DHL Trophy.
The RC 44 match race has become the toughest in the world over the years, with three times America’s Cup winner Russell Coutts sailing against Team New Zealand’s helmsman Dean Barker, Cameron Appleton, Paul Cayard, Ray Davies, Karol Jablonski, Markus Wieser and many more. During the last regatta, held in Portoroz in September, the three leaders of the annual ranking (Barker, Col & Appleton)finished no better than fifth, sixth and seventh, illustrating the level of the competition and leaving precious points to Karol Jablonski’s Organika and Paul Cayard’s new team Katusha. Nothing’s acquired yet in this contest: four team are still in a position to win the title: Artemis (9 points), Ceeref (11 points), Team Aqua and No way Back (12 points).   In the fleet race ranking, Torbjorn Tornqvist and Dean Barker’s Artemis sit two points ahead of Chris Bake and Cameron Appleton’s Team Aqua whilst third placed BMW ORACLE Racing and No Way Back are in their wake, with three more points. Vincenzo Onorato will be at the helm of BMW ORACLE Racing in this event whilst Pieter Heerema, Torbjorn Tornqvist and Chris Bake will steer their boat as usual.    The DHL Trophy ranking is even hotter, with four teams separated by four points: Artemis (7 points), Team Aqua and No Way Back (8 points) and BMW ORACLE Racing (9 points).   The most coveted title is the overall Championship Tour ranking. Team Aqua leads this contest with a three points margin over Artemis (9 points), No Way Back (13 points) and BMW ORACLE Racing (14 points).   Organised by Dubai International Marine Club, the Sea Dubai RC 44 Gold Cup will start on Tuesday November 24 with the practice Race and media day. The match race event will take place on Wednesday November 25 and 26 whilst the fleet regatta will take place from Friday November 27 till Sunday 29.     

    The teams involved:   (Name of team, owner, pro sailor)   Team Aqua, Chris Bake / Cameron Appleton Team Ceeref, Igor Lah / Rod Davis Sea Dubai, Yousef Lahej, DIMC / Markus Wieser BMW ORACLE Racing, Vincenzo Onorato / Russell Coutts  Team Organika, Maciej Nawrocki / Karol Jablonski Puerto Calero Islas Canarias, Daniel Calero / Jose Maria Ponce Artemis, Torbjorn Tornqvist / Dean Barker No Way Back, Pieter Heerema / Ray Davies Team Austria, René Mangold / Christian Binder Team Katusha, Paul Cayard