London, UK (1 December, 2009) – The 2010 Tour schedule will comprise of the same nine events as 2009 starting the year in France in April and ending once again in Malaysia.

 April 6 – 11                    Marseille International Match Race          Marseille, France          

May 19 – 24                  Match Race Germany                            Langenargen, Germany 

June 8 – 13                    Korea Match Cup                                   Gyeonggi, Korea           

June 22 – 27                  Troia Portugal Match Cup                       Troia, Portugal              

July 5 – 11                    Match Cup Sweden                                Marstrand, Sweden       

Aug 31 – Sept 5             St Moritz Match Race                            St Moritz, Switzerland   

Sept 8 – 12                   Danish Open                                         TBC, Denmark              

October 4 – 10               Argo Group Gold Cup                             Hamilton, Bermuda       

Nov 30 – Dec 5              Monsoon Cup                                        K.Terengganu, Malaysia


A refined Tour Invite Policy for the 2010 season will be retained which will reward 9 skippers and teams with guaranteed invites to six events of their choice for the year.  « The Tour Card policy was first introduced at the beginning of the 2009 and overall it worked well but in order to improve upon it we have made a few revisions for next year. » said Tour Director Craig Mitchell.

 Based on a 9-event schedule, and a 12-team event format, at each event 8 invitations will be allocated by the Tour Invite Policy, 2 invitations go to winners of Tour qualifying events, and 2 or more wild card invites will go to each event promoter.

 For teams that don’t get one of the 9 Tour Cards they will still be able to race on the Tour through either an event wild card or at one of the 18 qualifying events that feed into the World Tour events.

 New venues are also being targeted as the Tour plans to expand the number of events.  « This is an exciting time for everyone involved in the Tour from competitors, events and staff a like.  We look forward to taking the Tour to the next level and are excited by the future ahead » said acting President Peter Gilmour.

 Tour Standings
(After 8 of 9 events)
1. Adam Minoprio (NZL) ETNZ/BlackMatch Racing 100 Points
2. Torvar Mirsky (AUS) Mirsky Racing Team 88 Points
3. Ian Williams (GBR) Team Pindar 75 Points
4. Mathieu Richard (FRA), French Match Racing Team Racing 74 Points
5. Peter Gilmour     (AUS) YANMAR 71 Points
6. Ben Ainslie, (GBR) Team Origin 65 Points
7. Damien Iehl (FRA) French Match Racing Team 48 Points
8. Sebastien Col, (FRA) French Match Racing Team 41 Points

About the World Match Racing Tour:

  • The World Match Racing Tour is the leading professional sailing series featuring 9 World Championship events across the globe
  • The World Tour is sanctioned by the International Sailing Federation (ISAF) with « Special Event » status
  • The World Tour awards over US$1.5million in prize money
  • Points are awarded at each event culminating in the crowning of the ‘ISAF Match Racing World Champion’
  • Events utilize the same « match race » format used in the America’s Cup with racing taking place in identically supplied racing yachts which places a focuses on team work and skill. Racing takes place close to the shore for the general public to follow the races as virtual on-the-water stadiums.
  • Media and television highlights coverage reaches over 600 million households in excess of 90 countries around the world.
  • World Match Racing Tour sponsors include Line 7, Pindar, Custom House, Travel Places, Wedgwood and Sail.TV

2010 Tour Schedule
1 April 6 – 11 Marseille International Match Race Marseille, France
2 May 19 – 24 Match Race Germany Langenargen, Germany
3 June 8 – 13 Korea Match Cup Gyeonggi, Korea
4 June 22 – 27 Portugal Match Cup Troia, Portugal
5 July 5 – 11 Match Cup Sweden Marstrand, Sweden
6 August 31 – September 5 St Moritz Match Race St Moritz, Switzerland
7 September 8 – 12 Danish Open,Denmark
8 October 4 – 10 Argo Group Gold Cup Hamilton, Bermuda
9 November 30 – December 5 Monsoon Cup K. Terengganu, Malaysia